The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The persuasiveness of an argument is often used as regarded as the measure of the quality of an argument, as it is believed the by most that a good argument is the one which can make people forebear their entrenched belief, adopting a new one, while it is often refuted by some as can be seen from past experiences, many spurious arguments have made a rapid shift in paradigm. While I agree that a weaker, and sometimes deceitful, arguments have been able to change people's thinking, I believe that while testing for the strength of an argument, its ability to influence people often comes in handy, the reason for which explored further in the impending paragraphs.

The art of rhetoric is the inherent characteristic of any argument, as the believability of an argument is what draws the audience. As can be seen through the cogent speakers of olden times, while in any argument people have preferred to speak elusiveness to strengthen their side of an argument, which have often provoked people into action. The famous speech "I have a dream", by Martin Luther King Jr. is often considered as the apogee for any argument ever made, which is held to this standard for its ability persuade a mass to fight against the systemic racism in America. The arguments he made to insitigate the fight, and ignite the the fire among people who's feeling of hostility was once latent, was what makes these arguments the ones people haven't forgotten till this date. While the reason for them surviving this test of time, and still being revered is his ability to convenience the people who had made their peace with the racism to change their mind and march for their freedom.

In addition to that, most of these can be see in politics, where a even a single word blurted out from a political leader often polarizes opinions, racing havoc around the globe. This power of changing people's mind by their simple arguments is what makes these people, what they are, as an argument such strong comes with the powers to bring change.

In the meantime, human beings being as gullible as they are, can often be duped into adopting dogmatism, and spurious belief quite easily. The "Ponzi-schemes" can be taken as a good example of how people can easily be persuaded by a simple skullduggery if we can reach for their weaknesses. Thus, an argument's strength can not be completely defined by its persuasiveness.

To conclude, I believe that the ability of an argument to change people's belief is a great measure for determining its strength, but this method cannot be considered ubiquitous, as seen throus various incidents in the past when people have been persuaded by trickery.