The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The discussion of the measure of truth or cogency an argument ,is not a trivial one. In fact, it has been a bone of contention among many historians and psychologists alike. The prompt suggests that the best way to prove the validity of an argument is its convincing power. In other words, it implies that a good argument can be called so, if it is able to shift an opposing party’s viewpoint. I mostly disagree with this statement for two reasons.

To begin, the convincing power of a religious argument does not reveal any form of truth or fact behind it. That is, the fact that people believe a certain dogma does not imply any level of validity in it. For instance, the conversion of an individual from one religion to another occurs when such person believes the argument that a religion is superior to others, or that belief in that religion may bring about improvement in the individual’s well-being. This is not backed up by facts or empirical observation most of the time, but by mere faith which in itself may be misleading. Research has shown that, religions with a large following are often based off of writings in holy books that dictate a reality which cannot be proven in today’s world by scientific data. Some elements in these holy books include the presence of angels, demons, giants, dragons and the likes. Because the existence of these phenomena cannot be explicitly proven, it means that the arguments pushed by these dogma are of questionable validity; but people are still convinced, and proceed to believe in them.

Secondly, people tend to believe what suits their experience and agenda. In other words, a person will believe what makes him happy. Take for example the very popular story of the Emperor’s clothes. The emperor in his pride and valor, decided to hire the best tailors around to make him a garment that reflects the majesty that came with his high rank in society. These tailors, being cunning and wiser than him, made him believe that they had sewn an outfit for him that only wise men could see. He believed this, although this was a lie (a blatant one, at best), and ended up wearing it to the parade held in his province. This example illustrates that if an individual is told some thing he wishes to hear, then my bet is on him believing it; even if such a statement or argument is a lie.

However, when thought about deeply, there are no other sensible metrics one can use to judge the power or validity of an argument. How else can an argument be tested or judged? The sole purpose of an argument is to convince the listeners or consumers of the argument, and the success rate of this argument’s cogency is measured by the number of people it changes; whether the argument is founded on terrible assumptions or not.

In conclusion, the complexity of this issue is on the high side. It may be near impossible to prove that an argument’s validity can be tested by its cogency power.