A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The choice of subjects in High school has been a topic of debate since ages. The prompt recommends that all the students in the country should study the same national curriculum until they enter college. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this recommendation and feel that the students should more or less study the same national curriculum along with scope for optional subjects, for the following three reasons.

To begin, when students enters junior school, they are at a very nascent stage in their development process and don’t necessarily have the ability to decide what path or course will be best for them. So, some subjects need to be taught to all students in school, so that they gain a perspective on the matter that they are going to learn for the next decade or so in their life. For example, in some American states, it is mandatory to take classes in mathematics, social science and english for all students in the state. This has resulted in enhancing the quality of education in those states as compared to their counterparts who have taken a more liberal approach right from the beginning.

Furthermore, it is necessary to build the basics of some specific subjects in school so as improve the overall learning experience in higher studies. Consider the case of mathematics and english. These are the fundamental subjects that need to be taught to all children right from junior school until they graduate as it helps them to grasp any other subject with ease and are very useful in life in general too.

Moreover, there is a certainly a need for some uniformity across the country, so that it is guaranteed that, by the time these students enter college, they have acquired at least basic knowledge in the fundamental subjects as mentioned above. On the other hand, in my opinion, there should also be some subjects that are kept optional so that curious students can explore different areas of study and challenge themselves with something other than the regular curriculum.

In conclusion, I believe that having a uniform national curriculum would turn out to be beneficial for country. But, the curriculum should not be rigid and should allow some optional subjects in order to ameliorate the overall development of the students.