Claim We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own Reason Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagre

Some believe that the ideas of like-minded people, is more didactic for us in comparison with the notions of the ones who think differently. This argument can be argued from various aspects, which would be elaborated in this essay, based on my personal view that strongly contradicts with the argument. Since I believe different thought has a lot to learn us.

First of all, this argument seems to spread a dogmatic view point, as being only concerned with what we already know, prevents us from learning new things and leads us to a state that we consider our beliefs as the best and we try to convince others to accept our opinions. While there is no absolute right or wrong in the world and these two point are just relative, based on the situation and definitely the person who serves them. As a simple example, when someone thinks that chocolate cake is the best choice for them, we can not persuade them to have a vanila cake instead!

Furthermore, the idea of arguing with opponents about our beliefs, is an opportunity to put our thought into question, and see them from different aspects. Maybe we have observed them from a wrong perspective for so long, so that we were unable to think outside the box, or maybe we can find new reason for our choice of these beliefs. This arguments also help un strengthen our debate skills and critical thinking as well. If we would not be able to support our ideas, by presenting rational proves, we might better leave them, Since this a an evidence of the lack of depth in our reasons.

Finally, our views are the ones we already know, while we are living in an era that is changing rapidly and new ideas are being introduces even at a blank. Open-minded people are always open to new notions. For instance, today, there are other sexual orientations among the society, and we can not ignore their existence. Although we do not share their idea of sex life, we have to understand them and accept them as society members, as they really are, and by ignoring them, we are ignoring ourselves in fact.

In conclusion, learning from the views of like-minded people, would solely deepen our beliefs and strength our reasons for our present ideas, while our minds are biased to collect more evidence for what we feel right, which would not be necessarily right. By listening to opposing ideas, we lead our minds to think outside the box and see the subjects differently. I personally believe that this is a key to a peaceful world where every one is free to serve a different way of thinking.