Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reasons on which that claim is based.

Is it possible to learn from a person whose views differ from our own? The answer to this question depends on the mindset of the person answering it. I concede that contradictory views often lead to discord and distress. However, it is indeed possible to learn from people with opposite views provided that the discussion is on the reasonable merits, and people involved are flexible enough to listen to the explanation that does not conform to their opinion on the subject.

A very clear example to demonstrate how rigid adherence to beliefs can sometimes lead to chaos is television talk shows or debates. In such shows, people just try to impose their personal beliefs on others without even listening to the opposite side. We all know how this kind of discussion end in a disaster. Another example where opposing parties refuse to do any compromise on their principles can be politicians or political parties in general.

There is only one way out of this and it is a reasonable debate where people welcome how other people look at an issue and try to compare their perspective with their own. For instance, environmental institutions and factory owners are mostly against each other in any government ministry. On one hand, environmentalists emphasize the importance of nature and sustainable development. On the other hand, factory owners contend that the economical growth and jobs of their employees outweigh the minor harm that their operations are causing to the environment. It is only when these two parties are ready to accept each other's concerns, that they can come to a shared belief, and agree on a strategy that is beneficial for both.

At the global level, debate or reasoned discussions has no less importance as can be seen in various treaties and policies accepted by a number of nations. Take an example of two countries on verge of going to war against each other. In this scenario, discussions between diplomats of both countries are the only way to eschew devastating effects on the growth and economy of both nations.

In sum, it is not that we can only learn from the people whose views we share. In my opinion, we can actually learn more from people whose views are in contradiction with our own. Without a difference of opinion, we don't get to know the perspective of others. It is entirely possible that we would agree with some points once we are aware of them. Thus, either to learn only from people with opposing views is not impossible, and it depends on how flexible we are to see the world through the eyes of someone else.