Claim: When one is making a decision, it is better to have a limited number of options.

Reason: The more options a person has, the more difficult it is to make a rational decision.

People always make decisions in their daily lives. Specifically, they choose what to eat for lunch, whether to drink an additional cup of coffee to keep fatigue away, and so on. The given prompt presents the claim that it is better off having a limited number of options followed by a reason. I mostly agree with this claim for two reasons, including the given one, but I do concede that having variety of choices do give more freedom.

First of all, if more options are given to a person, he or she is more likely to have difficulty choosing one than when there are fewer options. Specifically, people should consider numerous aspects to make the best choice among other options. They should compare and contrast pros and cons of one choice and another consecutively. As the number of choices increases, it becomes more cumbersome for people to make decisions. For instance, consider a man is deciding what rent to choose. The man should consider various factors, such as the price, location, security, and so on. If there are only two choices to consider, it would not take a long time to make decision which house to choose. However, if there are eleven possible options to choose, theoretically, he should compare options considering numerous aspects fifty five times to come up with the best decision. This example illustrates that having more options increases the difficulty of making decisions due to the increased complexity in decision-making process.

Secondly, besides that more options complicates making decision, having various choices can also decrease the satisfaction after one makes decision. Specifically, if one chooses an option A, and there are twelve other options that might have been chosen, one may think what if he or she has chosen another option. For instance, presume that a woman visits a restaurant and there were five kinds of steaks available. However, since she does not have sufficient money to try all the options, she has to force herself to choose one. In this case, assume that she chose a lamb steak. Then, she is likely to ruminate what if she has chosen pork steak instead of the lamb. If this keep lingering in her mind, she is less likely to be satisfied with the current decision. Furthermore, a number of psychological studies have shown that the more the options are given to a person, his or her satisfaction after decision is significantly decreased. These examples present that having more choices can decrease one?s contentment in his or her decision. He or she is much more likely to regret making the current decision and keep thinking about alternatives.

However, I do concede that having various options can grant freedom of choice. For example, suppose that a person can have only two options when choosing a beverage: orange juice or lemonade. Even if he or she wants to drink a diet coke, he or she is forced to choose between these two beverages. On the other hand, if the person is given a comprehensive options of beverages, he or she can choose a drink without considering the restraint. It is obvious that the latter case has more freedom than the former. This example shows that bestowing variety when making choices can eliminate restrictions and give more freedom. In this aspect, it can be argued that having more options is more desirable.

In conclusion, since having more options lead to the increased difficulty of decision-making process and the decreased satisfaction of one?s decision, it is better off having a limited number of options. However, it is true that having more options can give more freedom to people when making their decisions. From these aspects, I mostly agree that a limited scope of options is more desirable than a broad scope of options.