Claim When planning courses educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students Reason Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying Write a response in which you discuss the exte

Considering student preferences while developing educational courses is based on the implicit thought that this leads better participation from students. This is unambiguously is a great recommendation and can be implemented in most educational institutions. Definitely, it is a great idea as such a system promotes internal motivation in students taking up the courses. Not only the suggested framework promote greater participation from students, also gives the course administrator with a pool of ideas while designing the course that otherwise may get left out. Further, it is not good to ignore suggestions from students as our ignorance to student attitudes may be viewed negatively.

Undeniably, a system wherein student preferences are taken while designing courses help in fostering positive participation from them in studies with least resistance. Such a system is not only good for high focus and better learning, but we can also expect more self-discipline from the students as they would spend better part of their time in learning coursework. Further, we can expect better academic results from students as a direct result of greater participation in studies. Miranda high school embraced student suggestions during the initial stages of course planning and the course developed at the end promoted better learning, focus, and overall lower instances of indiscipline from the students.

Additionally, a course administrator that had a very limited pool of ideas while planning curriculum ca now enjoy a vast pool of ideas and carefully choose the best from a pool of ideas. New ideas and perspectives as suggested by students also provide the authorities with recent developments, as they are more abreast of the important developments in the concerned domains, which the authorities might have otherwise missed. Inarguably, it makes the job of teacher extremely easy to teach a bunch of interested students when compared to a lot that is not interested at all. Computer science students in particular can provide a better insight to their field as compared to their professors as they are more keen on the recent developments be it a new JAVA framework, a new chip architecture or a new programming language.

Contrastingly, ignoring student preferences while developing educational courses can make students feel discontented and unimportant. Such a course can also prove to be a burden on the students rather than a boon. Further, resulting in poor participation in studies leading to lower grades in academics. Authorities might also face backlash and even mutiny from students if their voices are left unheard. Students at El-Mont high along with their parents protested when authorities at school denied any student participation in course development the result was a course that was incomprehensible to most students. The act not only nosedived the El-Monts reputation but also lost the confidence its students had in school authorities. In conclusion, listening to student suggestions while prepping educational courses is beneficial. The acceptance of student suggestions makes them more participative, makes it easier for teacher to teach, leads to better results, and the courses themselves become better updated to most recent developments in the field. This becomes even more evident when we compare results from schools that followed such a regime and those who did not.