Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In deve

In recent years we have seen a paradoxical new trend in academics, i.e. the average grades of all students are now above 90% but the same students lack conceptual clarity about the very same subjects they have scored high in. This is in part due to the academic examination pattern which tests students more on theoretical knowledge, except for mathematics. However, the general notion remains that higher grades in academics equate to more intelligence. This dangerous correlation has created pressure on students to perform better than others in academic grades, students today face increased pressure from parents and peers to perform better. Ultimately, students are left with no choice but to mug up everything that is taught to them in hopes of scoring better grades in academic exams. The prompt here confirm the same and suggests that the race for high grades has compromised the quality of education at all levels of education. Undoubtedly, the position taken by the prompt is justified for the reasons that are as detailed below.

To begin with, academic performance has been taken as a component of graduate and undergraduate admissions. It is only very recently that standardized tests have been given more weightage for admission processes. Under the pressure to secure admission to a good university, many good students have been forced to just mug up the subject matter in favor of scoring high grades. Eventually, this lead to a situation where a lot of children who were admitted to universities could not keep up with the practical curriculum of graduate and undergraduate courses that has a high focus on practical knowledge. As a result, we are seeing a high unemployability in students with a strong academic background as they lack any real-world skills. This competition has compromised the level of education at all levels from school to college and universities because now children are being preprogrammed to parrot by heart subject curriculum and creativity is being increasingly shunned.

Secondly, the competition for high grades has created a situation where students are in great haste to cover all of the curricula and learn them by heart. Earlier, students used to freely engage in discussion and deliberate thoroughly about the subject matter to develop a clear understanding. Now we see that students at all levels are spending more time mugging up subject matter rather than spending time thinking deeply about the concepts that are discussed them making them devoid of practical knowledge at all levels of education. In a recent survey by Miranda, it was concluded that most students lacked a basic understanding of their subject matter when enquired about it in a different context but could still give sound definitions.

In conclusion, we can say that high competition has made our students vacuous and compromised education at all levels.