Claim: While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, it should really be a source of embarrassment.

Reason: Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

The author claims that boredom should be really a source of embarrassment rather than considering it with a sense of self satisfaction. I firmly agree with the claim for actually 2 reasons.

Self-satisfaction does not actually mean that one needs to be bored to have it. It is actually achieved through hard work and passion and getting something done that is important to our life. For example when a person is passionate about something or a purpose and he works day and night to achieve the goal of the purpose, when he finally achieves it he gets that self satisfaction. The example of Archimedes can be taken into account here. When he was pondering over the miscalculation in the crown of the king he could not sleep or eat for days. He used his imagination and passion to actually get to the depth of the problem and when he actually found out the solution he yelled - "Eureka!!" with joy. That is the real definition of self-satisfaction which can be achieved through hard work, deep passion, utter patience and cerebral imagination. There is no place for boredom to be considered as self-satisfaction, honestly Archimedes was not bored with that problem.

The second reason behind my position is that boredom corresponds to laziness and unwillingness to change the course of daily lives. A bored person is actually doing nothing in the name of boredom where life is too short to be bored with. Basically he lacks self-motivation to do something for his own good or to change his present condition. A bored person will randomly blame his fate for any inconvenient situation, showing no interest in any kind of practical solution. So boredom can not be considered as self-satisfaction rather it is actually destroying the potential of a human being making him unwilling and washing out any self-motivation that is left. A self-motivated person will always remain thirsty to learn new things, to do something better, to plan his tasks with more care and he will always welcome any inconvenient situations and make the best use of it unlike a person who is just bored.

So to conclude, it can be inferred from many practical examples that self-motivation comes from the willingness of a person to do something. The pursuit of happiness is really achieved when a person finally gets what he has been working for with perseverence. A bored person simply can not feel that self-satisfaction ever. He will just remain motionless while blaming everything.