Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

The station manager recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening are. To support this he presents the facts that after increasing call-in-advice program in WCQP in Rockville, radio audience increased significantly. Also the survey which has been conducted nationwide indicated that radio listeners are quite interested in this programme. Before evaluating these recommendations the manager must give proper explanations of some facts.

First of all, Ther manager can not overlook the possibility that maybe the increase of radio audience of WCQP is not because of the call-in-advice programme. It can possible that during this two years period population of Rockville has increased significantly who are interested in listening radio than before. It is not mentioned that wether the population growth in Brockville is constant or not during that time period. If this scenario has merit, then the argument is weakened significantly.

Secondly, The survey that has been conducted nationwide might not be accurate. It can possible that most of the participants were interested in that kind of program but the people that did not participate in that survey dislike this kind of program. So the statistical data may be inaccurate. Without ruling out this possibility the manager can not give the recommendation.

Thirdly, if we assume that people of Rockville are actually interested in call-in-advice programs, it Would not be wise to assume that people of medway will be interested in these program. People of Medway might be dislike this programs and including these programs can reduce the popularity of KICK. Thus it can create a huge loss for KICK. If this assumption has merit, then the argument does not hold water.

Also the manager assumes that the taste of people will be same constantly. But people changes their choice frequently. It can be possible that after inducing these programmes people will be interested in other genre of radio show. The manager need to substantiate this possibility before including these programs.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is flawed due to its relianv]ce on several unwarranted assumptions. So the manager must give logical explanation to rule out this assumptions. After having proper explanation the viability of this argument can be evaluated properly.