College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Every year, a wave of frantic high school seniors get accepted into college. The panic and anticipation of college admission suddenly transforms into what field should I study? As the aphorism goes: "Chase your passions and the money will come." Life is short and it is crucial that we live it with zeal and fervor. To dedicate your college career based on the current job pool is to concede to mediocrity.

College is a huge commitment, both financially and personally. Many students create huge financial burdens in the form of debt in order to fund their collegiate aspirations. Dedicating all these resources into a field of study for the sake of job safety is wasteful. The career market is dynamic and everchanging. For instance, Bill Gates had been interested in computers when he was a young child in Seattle. At the time, computers were scarce, and the need for computer engineers was just as fickle. Nonetheless, he devoted his life into mastering his burning passion inside and out of the classroom. He would eventually found Microsoft. Today, the demand for computer engineers is four times higher than the supply. The needs of tomorrow are unknown; it is imperative that we encourage college students to study what interests them, and teach them to invest in themselves.

Further, human nature has taught us not to settle for less. In sports, school and in our personal lives, we aim to excel. If students are to excel in the classroom, they must be genuinely interested in the subject they are learning. Mark Cuban, the eccentric billionaire owner of the Dallas Mavericks, began college as an accounting major. Disinterested, his grades suffered. Eventually, he would shift his focus towards entrepreneurship. Conversely, students may thrive studying subjects that they are mildly interested in, but the synergies of hard work and passion can create immeasurable success. Nobody wants to be average. It is imperative that students study subjects that they will devote time and effort to mastering.

Finally, this is not all encompassing. An abundance of students enroll in universities for job security; that is perfectly fine. Job assurances are an invaluable asset that not every major can guarantee to prospective employees. On the other hand, the future is unknown. Who is to say that they know what jobs will be in demand in the next decade? To illustrate, take the traditional cab driver: once a profitable industry attainable by people of classes, they are struggling to take stay afloat. The ride sharing technology company, Uber, disrupted the entire field. The luxury is job security is something that particular students may be looking for, but there is no such thing as job certainty.