College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The following statement contends that college students should base their choice of field on the availability of jobs in that particular field. The availability of jobs, in a specific field may change with time. However, availabilty of jobs doesn't mean that one is getting a job in that field, for sure. However, if one decides one's choice of field in accordance to their interest level, or related to family's profession, or for some other personal choices, then that may remain intact throughout one's life. And, may end in getting one a good job that they always wanted.

Firstly, college students should select their choice of a field of study according to their prefrences and interests. For instance, if a student is interested in art and craft, the best field to choose for him/her will be arts, and not science or commerce. Although, it has only a few available jobs, if one has it clear in one's mind about what one wants to pursue in their future, one can get even the rarest available job. If one chooses, science, which is far away from one's interest and understanding, it seems plausible that only may end up doing nothing good to their job, even if they get one and end up getting frustating and dissatisfied with their job status.

Conversely, if one selects their field of study on the availability of jobs in that field, its consequences are inevitable. For instance, considering the current scenario, the highest availability of jobs, or for sake, even the highest paying jobs, are in the field of computer science and its majors, in vision of creating a new innovative and digitalised world. Alongwith being the highest paying and available jobs, one seems to neglect the fact that it is even one of the toughest job to get, as it is in search of the most innovative and tech-oriented people of the world.

In sum, the choice of a field of study depends on various factors, of which one can be the availability of jobs, not necessarily the primary one. It should majorly focus on the long term vision of one's future.