Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

How far should we as society attempt to save the endangered species? Should we save them only in case we have caused harm to them or we must help them because we understand their pain? While, human population have increased from 2 billion to 8 billion in the past 200 years, many species have died because of our attack on their natural habitat. There are many species that have become extinct due to human encroachment, and have suffered a great loss.

First, considering the Indian tigers, which are found in western parts of India, have been declining since many decades, and the figure has decreased to only 1000. And, they are still endangered. They are basically hunted and killed for selfish needs of human, which includes their skin and various body parts. Although, they are the predators but they are balancing the food chain and natural life cycle, which may get imbalanced due to human intervention. These creatures hunt the weak links of the wild part and keep the wild life healthy. If we as policy makers, doesn't save them by imposing severe punishments on the hunters, then the whole wild life balance many change, and overall health of other species may get affected.

Additionally, because of global warming, many polar regions and species residing their are getting affected. Even though, we are not directly harming them, the temperature rise is causing polar life a great danger. We, as a society, can take steps to overcome this environmental change, by encouraging more eco-friendly products.This may cause a little damage in the current market functionality, but if steps are not taken today, it may cause more in the future; some estimate the expenses to undo these effects will cost many more trillions of dollars in future.

Not only the terrestrial life, but also the aquatic life is being seriously hampered by human presence. The rise in water temperature resulted in loss of many coral reefs. Alongwith this, immense fishing has left many aquatic species in state of near extinction. They can be saved by taking proper policy measures, which may impose a limit on fishing troops, of some species, that are on the verge of potential extinction. All of this, will cause disruption of fishing industry, but will bear fruits in the long term.

To recapitulate, there is an exigent need of implementing a policy, by keeping in mind the terrestrial, aquatic and polar life balance. Also, society should make efforts to save all the endangered species, on the verge of potential extinction. We are humans, who can understand other's pain, thus it is our duty to save them, by bearing some temporary pain.