According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily,it is based on the unwarranted assumption that Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, rendering its main conclusion that,

all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students, invalid.

Firstly, the argument states without evidence, that adoption of an honor code, by Groveton's college, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, has to lead to a considerable decline in the number of cheating cases. It fails to point the fact that, if students agree not to cheat in the examination, doesn't guarntee that they will maintain their intergrity as promised. The students who already cheated in the examination, may continue to do that in future as well, additionally such students, who themselves cheat, might not even contribute to report a single cheating case to thier faculty member, as they are the one involved in that too.

To support this argument, the author further gives statistical data for the comparison of previous scenario, in which teachers closely monitored students and the current scenario, replaced with the honor code. Under the obsolete system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year which has actually declined to twenty-one cases of cheating, reported by the students in the first year and had further dropped to fourteen, after five years. This evidence clearly opposes that writer's statement.

Finally, the author mentions a recent survey, arguing that a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. This leaves a lot of space for doubt. There is no information provided about the number of students ionvolved in the survey and the type of questions asked. The survey may have been ten pages long, with only two questions about the honor code. ALso, the students involved may be the one who never cheated, or the one who are less likely to cheat with an honor coede, neglecting the one who even cheat with the honor code in place. Had the author mentioned about the percentage of students participation and the typeof questions asked in the survey, the survey could have taken into consideration.

In general, the writer fails to make a convincing argument beacuse of a lack of statistical data and evidence provided to make its point. The argument could have strengthened, if the author provide information regarding the facts. Finally, it ends with an optimistic conclusion that based on wishy-washy observations, that are likely to be incorrect.