We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

The statement contends that we tend to learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own. I agree insofar as it comes inherited in human's nature, that we have a predilaction for people with similar views and a tendency to neglect people sharing the contradictory views. However, sometimes, we could learn more from people having opposite views as this gives a new direction to our thought process. Learning is a continous process, also it has a very vast scope.

Firstly, it is necessary for ourselves to understand, what kind of knowledge we are hungry for, what we want to gain in our life, and from which person could it understand the best. He/She could be any of our friends, family, or someday some unknown. Also, they can belong to any age group, or profession from the vast feilds of life. For example, if we want to learn cooking, one's own mother would be an ideal person to teach. If we are looking for some money related topics, father may be the best one to teach. But, if we want to learn some art related thing, we need to go to professional classes for the same.

Additionally, we tend to incline towards people who share similiar views, we learn more from them. The primary reason behind the same is that we listen and consider their lessons ideally. It is not always necessary that they teach us the correct thing, or if they are the one who could teach in the best possible way. For example, if we want to learn a topic we weren't able to cope up with during class lectures, the first person one would turn towards will be one's closest friend, of course, that's natural bias beacuse he/she is a close friend for a reason, and one would share similar thoughts with them, in most cases. But, at the same time, someone would have taught that in a better way.

Conversely, it is not always necessary that we learn from someone sharing similar views. Learning is a very vast area, we could have want to learn something that's very different from what we used to do till now. Also, sometimes opposites attract, and we may tend to learn more from the contradictory views, as it is something we never though of, or used to oppose till now.

To sum up, we could learn from any person in this world, be it from the one sharing similar views, or the contradicting views. We must have a mind which wants to learn every possible thing. At the end, it all depends on what our mind wants to cope up with.