We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take

Acquiring knowledge is very important for the overall development of any individual. The author states that we can get more information and ideas from the people with whom our ideas share than from the people with whom our ideas contradict. The given topic is highly contentious, because different people have different opinions on the given topic. Some people may go for the topic, but some people stand completely against the given topic. I mostly agree with the given topic for the following reasons.

First of all, it is easier to get more ideas from the people, whose thoughts are alike with ours. We can easily discuss the given thoughts with him and can easily reach a conclusion. On the other hands, people with whom our ideas contradict, the discussion may impede learning process. It may take more time to reach a conclusion. For instance, a person from the physics want to discuss about a theory such as string theory of atomic physics, with his friends who oppose or cast doubts on the given theory and do not want to make a good judgment on the given topic. In that situation, it is very hard to reach a conclusive point.

Furthermore, sometimes it is possible that the opposing party deliberately make objection for the sake of his/her benefit. For example, when one political party purpose a ideas such as construction of airport. Though, this idea is also liked by the opposing party, but because of getting loss in next election opposing party deliberately hinder the decision making process. They thought that if the opposing party makes a more infrastructure, then their popularity is increased and it is very difficult for them to get higher votes in the next election.

However, by discussing any issues among the people having both share and opposing viewpoints, it is helpful to get ideas on the both sides of the view and the possible correction can be made if the purposed idea is flawed. Say, government brings a policy to ban abortion. Then by discussing among the people who thought that the banning the abortion is not a good things and a people who thought that the banning on abortion is a good thing, so the policy should be implemented. Only by discussions, booth pros and cons of any idea can be known and the subsequent correction can be made.

In a nutshell, though, through discussion among the people having opposing viewpoints, possible strength and weakness of the purposed idea can be known, but in many cases it hinders the learning process as some people deliberately put their negative point of view and takes longer time to reach a conclusion. Hence, we generally learn more from the people having common view than from the people having contrasting point of view.