Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten years, local sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol, have increased fourfold, while sales of sulia, a food rarely eaten by the healthiest residents, have declined dramatically. Because of these positive changes in the eating habits of Benton City residents, we predict that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author states that the citizens of the Benton city adopted healthier lifestyle. he make this assertions based upon the survey results, which shows that people follow dietary recommendation provided by the government and the consumption of the health beneficial food products such as kiran is increasing, but the food products which is bad for health-sullan is decreasing. upon outer inspection, the author assertation seems plausible, but upon the closer inspection, the given argument is based upon the several baseless assumptions. For better evaluation of the given argument, the author needs to provide more pieces of evidence, so that the reliability of the given argument can be increased.

Firstly, the author needs to provide more information about the survey. The author needs to answer to the questions such as, what is the sample size? if the sample size is very low then the correct prdiction can not be made. furthermore, does sample includes people of all the age group? if the sample only includes a particular age group, then the reliability of survey is low. Also, it might be possible that survey is carried out among few healthier people, if this is true then the generalizaton based upon this survey is a great mistake to predict a result based upon this survey.

Secondly, the author needs to provide more information about the dietary nutritional recommendations of the government ten years ago and present. if the dietary recommendations of ten years ago are more strict and rigid, but now are simple, then it might be possible that the people of ten years ago are more healthier than today. it might be true that people who have MBR 45-50 as heathier people ten years ago, but now BMR of 30-60 are consider as a healthy people then the results may alters.

Last but not least, the author needs to provide more information about the nature of the food products- kiran and sullan. The author states that the sells of the kiran increases, so people are more healthier. however, it might be possible that the kiran though reduced the cholesterol, but is bad for health. furthermore, the author states that the sells of the sullan is reduced, however, it might be possible that the sullan is actually beneficial for health, though only few healthier people eat, it doesn't mean that the product is bad for health. people may not like the taste of the product,as a result, only few of them eat it regualarly.

In a nutshell, the author makes a impetuous recommendations based upon the numerous baseless assumptions. For the greater realibility of the given argument, the author needs to provide more specific pieces of evidence (perhaps, based upon systematic research study) so that the validity of the given argument can be improved.