Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

education is very important for each and every individual for better life. The author states that it is the responsibility of the educational institution to guide their students for choosing their field of study.The given topic is highly contentious: some people may go for the topic, but some people stand completely against the given topic. I mostly agree with the given statement for the following reasons.

First of all, students are not aware about the scope of different fields of study. Furthermore, they don't have ideas about the difficulty level of the different fields. Since, educational institution has qualified resource person such as teacher, counselor, they can provide valuable guidelines to their students in choosing the major fields of study. For instance, a student who is poor in the mathematics and in the biological science wants to pursue mbbs (bachelor of science in medicine and surgery), then the likelihood of getting failure is higher than the chance to become success in the that fields, because student who want to study mbbs course should be diligent and hard working; if he choose that field without knowing the the difficulty level of study then his career will be ruined. so, teacher should provide guidelines in choosing the major fields of study.

Similarly, teachers are in contact with their students for long period of the time and they can predict the performance capacity of the students based upon his/her past performance record. so they can provide the valuable insight to their students so that the investment in the fields of study in which they are likely to unsucceed can be prevented. For example, a student want to pursue engineering courses but the teacher knows that his/her mathematics is very bad the it is the responsibility of the teacher to suggest him to change his/her chosen fields, otherwise there may be lost of large amount of money for studying engineering course. so that, teacher should assist them in choosing the major fields of study to prevent loss of large amount of money in the fields of study in which they are likely to unsucceed.

However, all the educational institutions are not filled qualified teachers having knowledge of different fields of study and they may not fully understand the student performance correctly, in that situation, their suggestions may be more detrimental as it directly affect the students career. say, Paras khadka-senior cricket player of Nepal- during his student life , his teacher suggest him to study doctor as he was talent in the study. if, he study doctor, then Nepali people would be unable to find such a best player cricketer. so, while choosing the career, student interest should also considered so that they are more motivated in their interested fields of study and perform better.

In a conclusion, sometimes it is desirable to considered student interest in choosing students major fields of study, educational institutions should provide guidance to their students in choosing major field of study so that the likelihood of spoiling od student career and wastage of money can be prevented.