The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"Nosinia is an herb that many users report to be as effective as prescription medications at fighting allergy symptoms. Researchers recently compared Nosinia to a placebo in 95 men and women with seasonal allergies to ragweed pollen. Participants in the study reported that neither Nosinia nor the placebo offered significant relief. However, for the most severe allergy symptoms, the researchers reported that Nosinia was more effective than the placebo in providing relief. Furthermore, at the end of the study, participants given Nosinia were more likely than participants given a placebo to report feeling healthier.We therefore recommend using Nosinia to help with your severe allergy symptoms.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a health newsletter, the author states that Nosinia is more effective than Placebo for treating severe allergy symptoms. he bolsters his conclusion by using the results of the survey, which shows that many patients reported more relief from Nosinia than placebo. Outwardly, this argument seems plausible, but upon closer inspection, it is based upon several baseless assumptions. For the better evaluation of the given argument, the author needs to provide an answer to the following questions so that the reliability of the given argument can be increased.

First of all, is the report reliable? The author assumes that the report is trustworthy. However, it might be possible that the report is not trustworthy. it might be possible that Nosinia is not responsible for fighting against allergy. The author needs to provide more information about the report reliability, how this report is prepared? how many people were surveyed? etc. if the report is not genuine then the author's recommendation is weakened.

Secondly, the author needs to offer an answer to the question of whether is it justifiable or not to conclude the effectiveness of medicine from studying a single type of allergy. it is true that allergy can be caused by various sources, pollens of various plants; it might be possible that Nosinia is effective for allergy caused by pollens of ragweed, but it might be possible that placebo may be more effective for treating allergy caused by others types of pollens. if this is true then the author recommendation is seriously undermined.

Last but not least, the third question that the author needs to answer is, whether a survey is representative or not. The author states that he carries out a survey within only 95 people. The question arises, whether is it sufficient or not to make a generalization of the findings from this survey. it might be possible that there are more than 1 thousand people suffering from allergy and only 95 people is not sufficient for generalization. Furthermore, the author needs to consider, among the survey sample, whether, all the people are of the same age, same immunity power group. it might be possible that people of different age groups are selected and the immunity power of the different individuals is different, then the generalization based upon this survey is not reasonable. if this holds true, then the author recommendation is seriously compromised.

In conclusion, the author provides a recommendation based upon several baseless assumptions so that the reliability of the given claim is limited. For a better analysis of the given argument, the author needs to provide an answer to the above-mentioned questions so that the validity of the given argument can be increased.