Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In devel

Education is very important for the development of any country. The author states that the education system of the country should be free. The given topic is highly contentious as some people may go for the topic while others can't approve it at all. I believe that the education system of the country should be free for the poor people who can't afford tuition fees, but shouldn't be free for all the students for the following reasons.

first of all, when education is made free for all the residents, then the government has to invest the majority of the budget for the education. In developing countries, like Nepal, where people are struggling for eating day and night, if more amount of money is spent on education then there might be a more serious problem such as people may die because of hunger. In that situation, it is more important to provide food and cloth first rather than education. So, for the evaluation of the given recommendation, author must consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy of free education.

Furthermore, when education is provided free of cost, then the student becomes less motivated towards education and the quality of education may decrease. People feel secure, even if they didn't study well, there will be nothing financial cost will lose, as a result, the education of the individual may be drastically dropped down. For instances, in Nepal, Agriculture and Forestry University ( Province no. 3, Nepal), started free education for all the students since 2010, however, the quality of the education decreases significantly and the performance of the student dropped down, then university decided to take fee from university and able to restore it's fame within short period of time again.

Thirdly, Of course, some may argue that education should be free so that they can get a better job after their graduation so that the economic condition of the country can be improved. However, the education system can only be improved only when taking a fee from student's who can pay tuition fee and should be free for those sedulous students, who are unable to study at the expense of the tuition fee so that student become more serious towards their study and the quality of education can be improved.

In a nutshell, education is a very important factor for the progress of any country, so the government should provide free education for those students who have talents but incapable of paying the tuition fee. But, the government should take tuition fee from those students who are able to pay tuition fee so that that money from capable students ( who are financially good) can be used for the other development of the society.