The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta, we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a memo from the vice president of Alta manufacturing, the author recommend to shorten one hour of work so that he employ will get adequate amount of the sleep:number of accidents are reduced. he gave this assertation based upon the evidence that the another industry-panoply- where employ are required to work one hour shorter than the workers of the alta manufacturing industry, where rate of accidents are 30% lower. Outwardly, this recommendation seems plausible, but upon the close scrutiny, it is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several baseless assumptions. For the better evaluation of the given argument, the author needs to provide answers to these questions.

First of all, is the number of on-job accident more on Alta company than panoply? The author states that the number of accident on Alta manufacturing company are 30% more than panoply company. however, it might be possible that the number of employ in the Alta manufacturing company are significantly higher than the number of employ in the panoply company and the actually number of on-job accidents are lower in Alta manufacturing company than panoply company. For instance, Alta have 400 employ and on job accident case is 13, but panoply company have total employ of 20 and on job accident case is 10. so, the author needs to provide actual number of employ and accident number for both company. if this is true then the author argument is seriously weakened.

Secondly, are two types of company comparable? if the nature of the company is of different then the comparison of one company to another might not be correct. For example, Alta company is of manufacturing car, on the other hands, panoply company is of music. then, it natural that the number of accident in the manufacturing company is more than the music company. if this is true then the author argument is weakened.

Last but not least, are protective measures use by both company same? it might be possible that the protective measures use by panoply company are far more better than the Alta company. Furthermore, machinery use by panoply company are in good condition and employ are provided with safety course, however, it is not adopted in the Alta manufacturing company. if this is true then the author recommendation is seriously compromised.

In conclusion, the author make a recommendation impetuously, which is seriously flawed due to it's reliance upon the several groundless assumptions. Hence, the author needs to provide answer to the above mentioned questions, so that the validity of the given argument can be increased.