It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is true that every individual has their own beliefs. No one is perfect ,so it is possible that every individual is likely to make mistakes during decision making process. The author asserts that compromising their own beliefs is more dangerous than to accept the new idea. The given topic is highly contentious, as different people have their own opinion, some people may go for the topic, while others can’t approve the topic fully. I personally believe that accepting own belief or compromising own belief is conditional i.e. depends upon the situation.

First of all, under certain circumstances conceding own belief is more harmful than to adhere them. For instance, someone beliefs that establishment of new poultry factory in Chitwan is more profitable than others parts of the country, Nepal. However, it might be possible that condition of the poultry enterprises is more pernicious condition than forever so that if one proceeds to establish poultry farm rather than to compromise his thought then the consequences are more serious. So, prior taking decision, one should consider the possible consequences that may occur upon accepting the idea so that the possible consequences can be minimized.

Furthermore, it is possible that the resultant effect of the accepting own thought may be more harmful to the society as well. For example, if one find corruption in his office and he don’t report it to the concerned authority rather than accept that situation then in such situation accepting that new thought is more harmful than to compromise that types of things.

However, under certain circumstances, compromising own beliefs is more harmful than to accepts that views. Say, Mahatma Gandhi, beliefs that India can be made free from British colonies through independent movements, if he compromised his thought then the today India is not in that freedom state. So, it is important to make decisions by careful consideration of the possible consequences after compromising own thoughts,

In conclusion, accepting or compromising own beliefs depends upon the types of belief that the person has. If the accepting own beliefs is more harmful than to adhering then one should compromise, but if the accepting that belief is less harmful than to accepting than in that situation one should compromise his thought for the betterment of the society.