A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising

In an article in a business magazine, the author states that business should hire employ who requires less than six-hours of sleep for higher profits. The author bolster his claim by the results of the recent survey, which shows that the advertising executives, who sleep less than six-hours per night, their company profit is high. The author hastily make a generalization based upon several unwarranted assumptions. The author needs to analyzed following assumptions for the better examination of the given argument.

First of all, the author needs to provide more information about the survey. Are 300 people sufficient for the study? It might be possible that there are large number of the people who are working in the advertising company, and only 300 people is not a representative sample size. Only people who sleep less per night are surveyed, as a result, the accurate results is not found. If the sample size is very low then the interpretation based upon that data is inaccurate.

Secondly, the author assumes that advertising company, who requires employ with less sleep per night is applicable to all the businesses. However, it might be possible that types of employ suitable in one types of business may not be suitable in other types of businesses. If this is true then the author argument is seriously weakened. So, the author must analyzed the types of business prior to make any recommendation.

Last but not least, another thing that the author needs to consider is, whether the requirement of the employ is only less sleep per night or others quality as well. It might be possible that the success of the business depends upon the others quality of the employ such as education level, their skill and abilities to understand the situation and to make a good judgment, trainings, etc. If this is true then the author argument is seriously undermined. For this resason, the author needs to provide details about basic qualities that the employ required for the better performance of the company and for higher profit.

In a nutshell, the author impetuously make a recommendations that all the business company must hire people whose sleep requirement per night is below six-hours. The author recommendation is seriously flawed due to it's reliance upon the several baseless assumptions. For the better examination of the given argument, the author needs to provide more pieces of the evidence (perhaps, based upon the systematic research study) so that the reliability of the given argument can be increased. Hence, it is part- and-parcel to provide others additional evidence, so that the truthfulness of the given argument can be increased.