Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement contends as to whether or not students should question at what they are taught or should they accept it passively, without instilling any doubt. I agree insofar as students should have clarity about what they are learning and more importantly, why they are being taught that particular thing. However, there can be some cases in which accepting whatever is being taught to them would sound a better choice, as it is for their benefit and concerned with their future goal.

Firstly, it is rightly said that small children's mind is very fluctuating and they always have a lot of questions, about each small thing happening around them. Answering the necessary questions, to make those young ones clear in their head, should be the moral duty of a student, instead of always neglecting them. For instance, if a teacher is teaching some topic on mathematics, like percentages, a student might come up with a question, what are its applications in real world, and why are they being taught this particular topic, and sometimes question how they are being taught, they might feel that that approach is erroneous.

Additionally, students pursuing a master's degree or some Ph.D. might even come up with random questions like, what is the relevance of this particular lecture with the coherence of our course, or maybe this should have been kept optional. These innovative minds come up with a lot of questions that they feel are fictitious. Although, it is a good practice to ask questions and get clarity in their minds, but at the same time, it is not always necessary to do that. For instance, a question regarding why they are being taught a particular subject might irk a professor, as the student themselves selected the particular course at first.

Conversely, some cases are such, in which accepting passively what students are being taught, seems plausible. For example, it is irrelevant for a computer science student, questioning why they are being taught Java or Python, or some other basic languages that ought to be included in their curriculum. A kindergarten student, shouldn't question why they are being taught the alphabets and counting numbers. Or an M.B.A student having doubts on why they are being taught economics or accounts.

To recapitulate, students must question what they are being taught, but some irrelevant or straightforward questions can be avoided. Notwithstanding this, in some cases, basic level questions on the necessary curriculum of any course, must be neglected, and they must accept it passively.