A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The following statement contends that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I agree insofar as it is of utter importance for a student to study all the basic required subjects in school.

First, the primary reason for my agreement is that students studying the same curriculum throughout, will gain same skills and therefore, there will be no competitive advantage of one over the other. The indigent populace of the nation, who were earlier devoted to many necessary courses, lacking in their school curriculum, will now have the right to equality and can compete in the fast-growing world.

Secondly, it will instill a sense of equanimity and cooperation, among all the students, sharing the same curriculum. This will further help them in developing good qualities and manners. There will be no student above or below anyone, in terms of receiving resources. A centralized education system will hence result in benefiting society as a whole.

Conversely, a more general view of the education system comes with its drawbacks altogether. For instance, some students might be interested in arts, while others in science, even others in commerce. This will fetter the students from choosing their area of interest. Alongwith this, there would be some courses, that would not be required by a certain student, for example, a have-to be engineer would have nothing to do with accounts, or literature and political sciences, yet he/she has to study that. This will result in the underdevelopment of students, and paucity in terms of knowledge necessary for entering a college, of some particular interest.

Also, such a centralized curriculum will result in deficient authorities, on the part of teachers and other authorities of the school. They will be forced to teach a particular course, in some cases, knowing that, a student won't get enough understanding of the subject at depth. This will hence, result in, students gaining superficial knowledge of all the subjects taught, rather than gaining mastery in a particular area of interest.

In sum, a nation, requiring all of its students to study the same national curriculum, throughout their schooling, will benefit in many ways. However, some power must be left in the hands of the school authorities to further amend it, or change some aspects of it, if they feel necessary, and find it beneficial for their development of students.