College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Students! Students! Students! millions of them worldwide struggle with this problem of whether to choose a field of study that they are truly passionate about or if they should pursue a field that is abundant with opportunities and pays handsomely. This is the type of dilemma even I faced when I started with my path towards the real world. To a certain extent I mostly agree with prompt of students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the ways that seem most likely to lead them to jobs because for the following two reasons:

Firstly, having a field of study which you are genuinely interested in and have deeply immersed yourself since the time you have been introduced to it, would lead to a more satisfaction and confidence in yourself. When you are doing something that you love, you will always be happy and in peace with yourself which is the most significant factor that, the entire populace of the world are missing. Being happy about what you are doing on the job will positively affect the other aspects of your life such as your relations with your parents, friends, and other colleagues. If a student have chosen a field which is relatively new and is pursuing only for the financial benefits then there's a significant chance of them getting depressed, unmotivated and constantly perturb by their job or the field of study. For ex: The great German scientist Albert Einstein, having massive understanding and interest in the field of physics immeresed himself in his studies to an extent that he would forget to have food or even fail to remember any of their relatives names and sometimes being called as "mad", because he would be always in a deep thought of physics. Such motivation and pure immersion in their field is heralded throughout the globe and to everybody's surprise the "mad" scientist presented the theory of relativity which had and even today has a groundbreaking effects worldwide.

Secondly, when you are doing something for a long amount of time without quitting, with full motivation and dedication, there's a great chance that whatever the results of your work, it would always be exponential (positively). Making your chance of success even higher and giving a sense of fulfilment in your life. For Ex: Eminem, a hardcore rapper who has dedicated his entire life towards the rap music, during his initial days was broke and didn't even had money to pay for his food. But because he loved what he was doing he always kept going and didn't quit which led him to produce biggest hits of all times in his career and granted him million and millions of dollars. Such a story is very rare, and if you consider a life of a person who is just doing the job because it's his job rather than a passion and a genuine interest then its very unlikely that he/she will replicate the things Eminem did.

However, I concede the fact that this scenario is rare and people will not always follow their passion because this is a fast-changing world and everyone wants to buy a nice house, a nice car, and other materialistic things. This makes them greedy enough to pursue a field or a job that will help them get those things. An example of someone who is studying Literature or Arts because of their passion and happiness that field brings to them might fail to give them any chance of getting this materialistic thing that everyone wants because of the ever-changing world which is dependent on technologies and similar aspects rather than works of art and literature and would pay the former people handsomely. This will make them less likely to follow their dreams and instead opt to such tech jobs.

In conclusion, even though I agree people might follow an alternate course of the field for their avaricious reasons or to have nice things in the world, the pros of being content with oneself and staying motivated and happy far outweigh the cons. I believe Happiness and peace with oneself are the most important aspects to any individual rather than their pursuits of only material things.