Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country

Studying abroad is an excellent method to acquire new knowledge and understand diverse cultures, so demanding all students to study in a foreign country seems reasonable. However, this argument is based on the assumption that students actually learn when they are overseas, and it overlooks obstacles such as tuition and living costs. Therefore, colleges and universities should not make overseas study a mandatory requirement for their students.

When students travel overseas, they have the opportunity to discover a new culture and perhaps a new language. Advocates of overseas study might argue that if studying in a foreign country is a requirement for all students, students would be able to discover a new perspective and meet new people and cultures. However, this argument is completely based on the presumption that students actually go out and explore an exotic environment. Some students might not adapt to the unfamiliar setting and struggle to integrate into the new culture, or worse, they remain isolated in the new environment and only desire things that they are familiar with. For example, Southeast Asian foods are known for their spices, but a student from the United States might not be accustomed to such strong flavors. Consequently, although this student has traveled to Southeast Asia, this student only dines in transnational fast food chains that are also found in New York. This phemenon defeats the purpose of studying abroad as it demonstrates that some students might revert to things that they are familiar with. Therefore, studying overseas should not be compulsory for all students, but students who wish to uncover new things should be encouraged to study in a foreign country as they are more likely to attempt new things to widen their perspective.

Another reason why studying abroad should be optional is the problem of cost. Traveling is expensive. Students who travel overseas have to be responsible for their own travel, tuition, insurance, and diet. Since such costs are enormous, requesting schools to fully fund every student would be ludicrious and students most likely have to pay for the majority of their costs. However, some disadvantaged students might not have the financial capability to pay for these costs. Therefore, making overseas study a prerequisite for graduation would only weigh these poorer students down. Schools should only support those who have a strong desire to travel overseas, but they can set up some scholarships to subsize those who wish to travel overseas but do not have the financial means to do so.

Finally, some students might not be able to travel for a long period of time. For example, athletes who receive sports scholarships from their school are required to compete in certain competitions. Their absence would harm the competitiveness of the school. Other students might have family members to take care of, such a a younger sibling or even a child of their own. These students cannot just leave their family and stay overseas for 6 months. If schools demanded that all students should study abroad, graduation would be virtually impossible for these students who have to return home every day.

In conclusion, students should not be required to study in a foreign country, regardless of the length of the duration of stay. Some shy students might not integrate well with the new culture and only associate themselves with familiar people or foods. In addition, other students might have financial difficulties or other reasons that prevent them from traveling. Schools should encourage students to challenge themselves and travel abroad to experience new cultures, but they should not make this a mandatory requirement for studnets.