The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Praising positive actions and ignoring negative behaviors are not optimal teaching methods. If teachers solely focus on the positive actions of students, they give students the incorrect impression that students are only rewarded for their excellence, not their attitude or effort. Students will also be more afraid of failure because they would believe that their worth is in their achievements. In addition, if teachers completely ignore the negative actions of students, students will never learn from their mistakes. Therefore, educators should strive for a balance between rewarding positive actions and correcting negative actions.

The academic performance of students reflects their understanding of the curriculum. However, it does not represent their attitude or effort. Suppose, for example, that a talented student achieves well in his or her studies, but is unwillingly to assist his or her peers for fear that others might learn the secret to an excellent academic performance, thereby causing this student to not stand out among other students. If teachers simply praised the positive actions of this student, such as high grades in an exam, they are unknowingly encouraging this student to withhold his or her secrets to a good performance, which could have been shared to benefit more learners. Since this student is only rewarded for his or her performance, this student would naturally be selfish and reluctant to assist others.

Some people may argue that positive actions should be praised. However, other aspects such as attitude and effort are crucial as well. An athlete should not try to win a competition by any means. During a match, the English cricket team tried to defeat the Australian cricket team by purposefully bowling toward the batter instead of the wicket. This tactic was successful and the English team won, but fans were disappointed that the English team decided to cheat to win. If winning is the only thing that merits a praise, then people might attempt to win by cheating to garner admiration.

Furthermore, negative actions should not be ignored because mistakes should be corrected. If the dangerous strategy of the English team was accepted on the grounds that it could win games, players might attempt to devise more harmful plays to try and win more games. Fortunately, cricket fans worldwide valued championships over sportsmanship and they decided to criticize instead of condone the negative actions of the English cricket team.

In conclusion, teachers should not solely praise positive actions and completely ignore negative actions. They can reward excellent achievements, but also remind students that other factors, such as learning attitudes and learning effort, are essential as well. This can prevent students from misinterpreting success as an attribute that only belongs to those that have an outstanding performance and become afraid of failures. Finally, teachers should not overlook negative actions, otherwise students cannot learn from their mistakes and are likley to repeat their offences again.