Scientific theories, which most people consider as ‘fact,’ almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should look upon any information described as ‘factual’ with skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future.

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your viewpoint, consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Scientific theories represent our current understanding of a phenomenon and may be debunked in the future. History is a recording of past events, but artifacts might overturn our current assessment of the past. Therefore, we should construe information carefully because the information could be wrong, but modern technology and comprehension has not yet allowed us to uncover the truth. In addition, interpreting information with skepticism allows us to be innovative and avoid being blinded by our bias.

Thousands of years ago, people believed that the world is flat and at the edge of the world is a waterfall that leads to a bottomless abyss. Centuries ago, scholars accepted the theory that Earth is the center of the solar system and planets revolve around Earth. Nowadays, space travel and remote sensing have helped us understand that Earth is neither flat nor the center of the solar system. If scientists simply accepted the aforementioned two theories, they would never uncover the truth. Some scientists continued to perform research and were able to prove that past theories were wrong.

Innovation starts when we question the norm. If people believed that running was the fastest form of transportation, discoveries such as vehicles would never have been created. The Wright Brothers understood that man does not have wings, but they believed in the possibility of flying and were able to design the prototype of modern airplanes. Doubt and skepticism are the drivers that promote societies to improve because they encourage people to throw aside conventional thinking and explore new methods to solve problems. Therefore, doubting accepted beliefs can help us uncover new discoveries.

Furthermore, information should be treated with skepticism because information may be altered on purpose or accidently. The world believed that Jesus was born approximately 2023 years ago and they use A.D. and B.C. to mark the calender year. However, historians have proposed the possibility that Jesus was actually born 6 years before 0 A.D. Regardless of the truth, this example demonstrates that even the most common information in our lives is not certain.

Some people may argue that not all information should be doubted. For example, they might affirm that water is salubrious to the human body and sugar is deleterious to health. However, if a physician blindly accepts these facts and refuse to interpret them closely, they would never be able to help some some patients with diabetes, who actually require a bit of sugar to stabalize their glucose. The aforesaid example reveals that although some knowledge are true, people should still remain flexible and not blindly adhere to them.

In conclusion, people should always remain skeptical for any type of information. This skepticism is crucial because new evidence or discovery can always prove any past understanding to be inaccurate. Furthermore, by questioning current knowledge, we have the possibility to optimize our technology instead of simply believing that no modifications can be made. Finally, skepticism is crucial because nothing is certain, particularly historical facts. By always questioning, we can always improve our understanding.