Scientific theories, which most people consider as ‘fact,’ almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should look upon any information described as ‘factual’ with skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future.

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your viewpoint, consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Scientific theories are generally rigorously proven through peer review processes before being deemed as facts. However, with the various ideologies of different people around the world, what is considered as “facts” have been met with skepticism from some for various reasons. In spite of this, one should continue to look upon any information described as “factual” as truthful and not with skepticism in order for us to live in an ideal world.

First and foremost, facts and science are important to human society for numerous reasons including public health and safety. By treating facts with skepticism, it might expose us or the people around us to danger. A clear example of such a scenario is the rise of anti-vaccine activists and the anti-vaccine movement. Even though the effectiveness and safety of vaccines have been proven time and time again, anti-vaccine activists view this branch of science with skepticism and flout the research behind it for theories that vaccines will lead to autism or that the government implants chips within citizens via vaccines. Not only does this put the person and their family in danger by not being medically protected from various diseases such as COVID-19, chickenpox or smallpox, it also potentially endangers the people around them who might come into close contact with them. As such, for the greater good of public health and safety, facts should not be treated with skepticism.

Another reason to treat facts as “factual” and not with skepticism is because it gives a good starting point of debate. Over the past decade, we have seen American politics become increasingly partisan, and a potential cause of this problem is because opposing parties do not agree on what is fact and what is fiction. Lets think of a hypothetical scenario where two parties do not agree on what the color “red” actually is. This would make it hard for them to discuss whether red would be a good color for clothing or a good color for wallpaper. Thus, to sustain intellectual debate and betterment, facts are vital as it provides a good starting platform for future discussion.

Last but not least, treating any information described as ‘factual’ with skepticism might open up the floodgates for the proliferation of “facts” or “statements” that are not factual at all. This is a slippery slope that will lead society into a world where what is right and accurate might be hard to discern from what is wrong and not based in actual facts. For example, “Flat-Earthers'' conspiracy theorists are vehement in denying that the Earth is round and are dogmatic in their belief that the Earth is flat. As we know, this is simply not true as we have various images taken from space that clearly indicate that the Earth is, in fact, a sphere. If we continue to treat facts with skepticism, those who disagree with facts and the truth will continue to disregard scientific evidence to promote their inaccurate viewpoints. As such, it is beneficial to society for us to believe in facts and to only treat unproven statements with skepticism.

Opponents would argue that information described as ‘factual’ have been proven false before. While they are certainly true in their statement, it is important to note that the percentage of scientific facts that have been later proven as false is low to the point that it is negligible. It would be the equivalent of saying vegetables aren’t healthy for you because you got food poisoning once from a salad. As such, it is clear that it is more beneficial to trust facts than to treat them with skepticism.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are more benefits to believing in facts and science than to treat it with skepticism. As such, it is vital that we protect the integrity of scientific facts for the greater good of society.