For a society to truly flourish, dissent should be encouraged.

Respond to the above topic by composing an essay that states how much you agree or disagree with the given claim. Be sure to use evidence to support your stance and to consider evidence that would challenge your stance.

Dissent is common in all democracies and it helps societies embrace different voices to avoid a homogeneous community. Without dissent, people might blindly perceive anything as true, but with dissent people can debate to understand more about different things such as current affairs and scientific phenomena. Therefore, dissent should be encouraged for a society to flourish.

Debates always have two sides, the affirmative side and the negative side. Without opposition, people would have a limited perspective because they would only see one side of an argument. For example, during the Second World War American scientists invented the atomic bomb, which was detonated in Hiroshima to force the Japanese forces to surrender. Although the catastrophic outcome of nuclear weapons became so horrifying that no one has employed nuclear weapons since then, at the time politicians and even scientists believed that the atomic bomb was the optimal solution to end the war. If an opposing view has pointed out the long-term deleterious consequences of nuclear radiation, perhaps politicians would have hesitated to use nuclear weapons against their foes. The lack of dissonance caused decision-makers to focus on the possible benefits of the atomic bomb and overlook their lethal power against humanity. Therefore, dissent is crucial as it enables us to always evalaute decisions from two perspectives to gain a comprehensive understanding of all the possible outcomes.

Dissent is also crucial in scientific communities. In ancient times, people believed that the Earth was situated on the back of a turtle. Later, philosophers challenged that view and proposed that the world was flat and had edges at its borders. Contemporary science has rebutted both theories and proved that the Earth is in fact a sphere. If no one ever challenged past understandings of the world, people would still believe in spurious theories. The importance of dissent is that it helps the society to question existing knowledge and through this curiosity continue to strive for innovations and discoveries.

Some opponents of dissent might argue that political dissent is often detrimental to the greater good. For example, if a country was to sign a free trade agreement and import apples, local apple growers would often object to this decision because the competition could negatively impact them. While the free trade agreement would benefit the majority of the consumers, farmers would lobby lawmakers to block such an agreement, hence dissent should be discouraged for the greater good. Although dissent could negatively impact the society, it is important to recall that there could always be another side to a story. Perhaps these farmers are mainly low-income single parents who rely on agriculture as their only source of income. Without dissent, their interests would be sacrificed for the greater good. Therefore, dissent is crucial to ensure that both sides have an equal representation in issues.

In conclusion, dissent is essential for a society to thrive. Dissent can ensure that policies are carefully assessed and the opinions of stakeholders are prudently evalauted. Furthermore, dissent is the driving force that pushes the science community to advance. Finally, dissent can protect the interests of the minority and prevent them from being sacrificed for the greater good.