Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Colleges and universities prepare the students for their work-space academically as well as professionally. They have the necessary resources that is need to gain knowledge and work ethics needed for our employment that is needed in jobs. I agree with the author that colleges and universities should send their students to study abroad atleast for one semester, but i believe there are certain recommendations.

First, when students are send abroad for a semester to pursue the major he is already studying in existing universities he gets to learn a lot from this experience. For instance, I majored in Mechanical Engineering from MRIU university and got the opportunity to study abroad in University of Tokyo, Japan as my seventh semester. Academically, I learned that about the softwares like solidwords design and ansys 5.0 simulations which were not taught in my home country. There were a discrepency in the study of teaching when compared to MRIU as there it is expected to work 12 hours of self study after classes per week. I have not encountered this before but got use to this schedule which greatly helped me a lot in keeping up with the pace of the studies. Also, I was had an opportunity of 2 week training program in Yamaha.Inc where I learned about the "efficiency operational Processes" like Kaizen and Six-Sigma which increase my scope of learning in mechanical operations. Upon my graduation when I started applying for jobs I successfully cleaner the interview rounds from many top-notch companies as I have the knowledge ahead of what they expect for a fresh graduate will have and also I have the letter of recommendation from the University of Tokyo. Hence, in my view, attending a semester abroad in a good university will bolster the knowledge of the subject and reflects an extra factor in the resume.

Secondly, student get to know the culture of the country he visit. Upon my arival in tokyo, everything seems different at once as I belong to India and India is a developing country. Traffic rules and pedestrian rules were totally different then what I followed in my homeland and also there is a provision to follow rules strictly. Japanese were really punchul of time and even 2 minutes of delay seems to be a problem for them which helped me to understand how to be efficient. Also, there is a difference of prices of food and transportation from India which gave me a good lesson of money management. I get to interect with the students from Europe and America along with japanese which was absent in my home institution as it is not a interactions institution. Therefore, it is likely that student get to learn a lot about living and culture apart from education when going to another country.

However, As indian universities do not have a hefty budget in order to send every student abroad therfore, they have a criteria of sending only top-notch students abroad. Also ,they organize the yearly examination internally that helps the universities in selection for the candidates who can be send in another country for their education.

In sum, there should not be a provision for the universities to send all the students for studying abroad for a semester but if the universities of any country has a budget then they must act upon this decision.