Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Modern age is the age of internationalism. Technologies have transformed the whole world into a global village. In this global village, it is always a benefit to have exposure to other societies and cultures other than the one a person grows inside. The prompt suggests that colleges and universities should mandate their students to spend at least one semester in a foreign country. While implementing this recommendation will expose the students to different cultures and societies, in my opinion, it can also waste valuable resources like time and money of the students and may even have detrimental effects on the students' results. So, while universities can offer students to spend one semester studying in a foreign country, it should not make it mandatory.

It is true that by requiring each student to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country universities and colleges will facilitate the exposure to different cultures and societies. For example, Canadian University of Bangladesh requires each student in the English Department to spend at least 3 months, equivalent to one semester in Malaysia, and as a result, students in that department can learn the cultural practices of Malaysia and get a familiarity with their societies. It also builds their communication skill as staying in a foreign country may impose significant language barrier that one need to overcome. But such benefits become diminutive compared to the pernicious effects of requiring to stay at a foreign country as will be mentioned below.

First, if staying in a foreign country requires time and money of the students. As money is a limited resource, students may not be able to bear the expenses of such sojourn in a foreign country. Besides, as staying at a foreign country needs some adjusting before a student can focus on his or her studies, it may waste time. For example, in the aforementioned Canadian University of Bangladesh, the English Department's students often work part time while completing their semester in Malaysia to fund their stay. Besides, they are sent Malaysia 2 months before the semester begins to let them adjust to the environment. According to some of the students of the department, this is a waste of time, effort and money and they just want to pass as soon as possible. So, requiring each student to spend such semester outside the country is not effective and it should not be mandatory.

Moreover, staying in a foreign country can even affect the grades of the students. If students cannot adapt to the environment, they may find it hard to concentrate on anything other than surviving in a foreign country. As a result, their grades may see precipitous drop. This is very common in the aforementioned Canadian University of Bangladesh, most of the students' results drop in the semester they are required to stay outside country. So, such a requirement not only wastes resources but also may affect the grades of the students negatively. A recent study among the students of different universities shows that students of most universities that require such sojourn at a foreign country have lower average grades. So, universities and colleges should require no such semester for each student.

In modern age of globalization, a person is expected to be cosmopolitan to be effective in society. While universities and colleges requiring students to study at least one semester in a foreign country can expedite the creation of such individual, it can have severe detrimental effects like the ones mentioned above. So, colleges and universities should not require every student to spend at least one semester in a foreign country.