Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education

Studies have majorly become ‘rat-race’ instead of source of learning. Where one tends to step over another in order to score higher than to increase the intellect of their interest. As the prompt suggests that the quality of learning be it on any level has seen major decline due to this so-called competition. I strongly agree to the above prompt for focusing on the quality rather than the relative grading to achieve the goal (Higher CGPA per say) for two reasons.

For instance, Institution plays a big role to set the mind set of leaners aka students on which side they want to be on, if the university lets say builds the curriculum in such a way which forces the students to focus on marks rather than what the topic itself is, students tend to digress from the main agenda of the education and tend to get stuck on the loop of different techniques or shortcuts to just get the answer in order to climb up the ladder rather than focusing on what exactly the course’s motive is, they start lacking in the application side of it as they dropped the point of real life scenarios and give their undivided attention to the Ranks and the final short lived outcome. And that’s the reason they are good are cramming up the topics rather than the plumb knowledge which would have helped them to be best that what ever they do. Competition in knowledge doesn’t make any sense on an ideal level.

Another reason is that the load that institution puts on students with amount of coursework like, Partical, assignments, lab, thesis etc. makes then loose interest in the course itself as they wont be able to dive into depth of each course work rather just scrap the surface and it then becomes the internal race between students as to who can memorize the formulas and paste it on the exam sheet, loosing the quality it again and that explains the reason why all of graduates fail in interviews of companies because they never focused on what they are learning rather on how much they memorized.

Although one might argue that in this vast community of people competition is essential for let say companies in ivy league colleges to get the cream of the students but they miss the point healthy competition is necessary not on the cost of the knowledge they gain on quality and in depth education. To conclude, Competition is important for knowledge not for higher grades. Which will help the students to excel in their respective career