Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

I don't agree with the statement that all competitions for higher grades harm the quality of learning. Although most of the time, students can't learn effectively when chasing higher scores, there are still a few scenarios that competitions help students to learn better.

When students focus on getting higher scores on tests, they are easily pay their attention to how to answer the questions right rather than understand the reason behind the answers. This deviates from the essence of learning and students barely learn anything. For example, most of the students in Taiwan need to take the same test to enroll in universities. The higher score a student gets in the test, the better college he can go to. Therefore, many students only focus on the techniques that help them get higher scores, such as memorizing a formula to calculate some equations efficiently without knowing how to derive the formula.

Also, since students compete with each other, they might be reluctant to teach and help others while one of the most important things to learn in schools is how to cooperate. For example, in Taiwan, many students that have good academic performance are in bad relationships with others because they are afraid of getting a worse grade than others. They think that teaching others would make others better and eventually make themselves to be in a subordinate position. Therefore, there are few discussion between them, which is really important for them to learn better.

Nevertheless, if the competition is well designed, it can surely boost the quality of learning. For example, if the competition is held between groups, students can learn to cooperate with their teammates while keep the motivation to beat other groups. For another example, if the scores are determined by writing a essay or preparing a presentation, students would need to focus on the core of the course instead of how to select the right answer in multiple choices.

To conclude, because most of the time, competitions for higher grades are focusing on the scores that students get on tests, the quality of learning would be undermined. However, if the competition is well designed, students can learn better since there is a motivation for them to beat the others.