Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

The issue raised here asks the reader to take stand on whether all levels of education competition for high grades will hinder the quality of education or not. Education is not an affair of “telling” and being told, but rather it’s a constructive process. Aim of the education should be to teach students how to go about life and not run behind the grades and at the same time there should be a healthy competition among the students to strive for excellence in subject and not for grades. Competing to just get higher grades than anyone else will negatively effect the quality of education. Let’s dive into some examples to understand more about it.

Firstly, when students are made to compete with each other for the sole purpose of getting good grades, students loose the importance of why and what they are studying. For instance, in a med school, all the students focus on getting good grades and involve in by hearting their whole textbooks without really understanding anything within it and not having to see and understand concepts practically in lab or in a hospital, then what kind of worthy doctors are we producing. Would these students be able to save people’s lives as they have strived for grades and not knowledge. Hence, it becomes very important to understand that higher grades do not mean quality education, rather competition should be to become a better professional and spend time in understanding and experiment what has been learnt.

Secondly, let’s take the example of Albert Einstein. Einstein was never the topper of his class, rather he was a student who couldn’t do math properly, not get good marks and his teachers had given up on him. His school followed the grades to be the regulator of whether a student is good or not. Moreover he was deemed by his teachers as an unworthy student and today the whole world recognise him for his contributions in physics and he has unravelled many secrets of the universe. So it’s quite evident in this case that grades doesn’t mean the student has no knowledge, it comes down to how every student is evaluated.

Thirdly, in an engineering school, which is all about practicality, trial and error. If grades are the way to go, then no student will ever be employed by any company once they graduate. Because though an engineering student has an excellent grade, and still doesn’t know how to operate a machinery, say for instance, a computer engineer who doesn’t know how a simple program works or how to think for a logic for a real world problem then what is the use of the degree. The three or four years spent in graduate school is of no use. In some fields like this grades don’t really matter, its the kind of projects or the kind of research the student might do during the course, and moreover when these graduates are hired, their skills are tested and then hired not by their grades.

In conclusion, in real world, knowledge and experience is what counts, competition for grades is not the right way to assess student’s ability. If grade is the factor to judge students then it’s exactly like judging a fish by its climbing capabilities.