Creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples

that could be used to challenge your position.

Creativity generally refers to the ability to come up with novel ideas, ingenuous solutions to problems . So, to relate creativity to intelligence is understandable but the claim that states creativity should be the only true measure of intelligence is something thats too extreme. Intelligence is something that has various aspects to it ,inorder to measure intelligence it is important to understand what intelligence in itself means and how can there be metric to measure the same.

To evaluate how important creativity is to intelligence it important to address the question of what is defined as intelligence. Usually in the common tongue we call a person intelligent if he/she displays mental abilities that are not normal and commonplace. So intelligence has a multidimensional perception in itself. A person who can solve a a difficult puzzle is intelligent. A person who can talk well to get out a quandary situation is also intelligent, similarly a person who invents something novel is also intelligent. Now beacuse intelligence can be viewed in so may ways it necessary to consider how cardinal is creativity in these cases. In case of say solving a puzzle or a diifucult math problem the person displays abilities to use existing formulas and techniques to solve the problem at hand, he is not coming up with novel just that he is able to apply his knowledge in a commendable way. When it comes to talking the way out of a difficult situation there the person is able to read the mindests of the people involved well , get the pulse of the overall atmosphere he is in and then with his wise choice of words he is able to convince other people and get out of that difficult situation these aspects can be deemed as emotional intelligence even here the person is not doing something novel as everyone can talk ,just that he able use the right set of words in the right situations.

Consider two professions scientists and engineers. Scientists are known to come up with novel ideas , discoveries and engineers use these ideas to make applications. For example Newton discovered the Law of Gravitation. Engineers on the other hand blindly used this law of gravitation to determine parameters such as escape velocity , orbital velocity and were able to design space crafts that can travel outer space. In this one might say engineers merely used newtons ideas to come up with rockets even though the design of the rocket is completely done by engineers one might say it was a consequence of ideas proposed by newton .So in these cases should we conclude engineers are neither creative nor intelligent ? Just as understanding what intelligence is it becomes necessary to understand what is creativity ? If creativity is involves building things completely from scratch then in the above example engineers are not creative and as per the claim they are not intelligent . But if creativity refers to thinking outside the box which may or may not include entirely new ideas but exploiting given ideas to build something new then engineers are both creative and intelligent .

A class of people might argue that Intelligence eventhough can be ascribed to many things its true measure is based on creativity only and other things are secondary. This can be true to test how intelligent an inventor / a scientist is because the primary job of these professions involves coming up with new ideas , the same can t be applied say stage peroformers like actors who just use the right set of words in the right times to display mental brilliance.

Even though creativity when taken in a broad sense can be largely ascribed to intelligence , Stating that creativity is the only true measure of intelligence is a harsh one.