“Critical judgement of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Critical judgement of work is significantly useful in a sense that it allows the work to improve in certain ways that the original author couldn’t think of. However, the fact that those critical assessments often comes from non-experts often plays out the tendency of original authors to undermine the importance of those critics. This kind of attitude seems quite relevant at a glance, inasmuch as those experts do not know much about the specifics and details of the work. But after taking some time of ruminating, it seems better to think of the critics from both experts and non-experts as valuable judgements that can be used to improve the overall quality of work.

First of all, even though the original author might be called as an ‘expert’ in that field of area, he (or she) is actually a non-expert in other fields outside the work. Think of science-fiction movies, for instance. A well-written critical article from a great physician about science-fiction movies can improve the movie business by increasing the reality of the plot based on scientific facts.

When it comes to some area that is highly related to general public, such as pop culture, the importance of these non-expert’s critics increases. There are lots of examples in hollywood that ratings from movie critics differ from the ratings from the actual public. Even if the ratings were horrible among the movie experts, almost begging towards the public “not to watch” the film, general public come out fine after watching and even rate a high score, saying “it was fun and exciting”. These manifest discrepancies, which can be easily detected in many other areas of popular culture, shows that the critics from actual experts cannot be used to predict the success of work in certain areas.

Still, some might say, that the critical judgement from non-experts cannot be accurate and shrewd enough to be accepted in an equal level with those from experts. It is true in certain ways, especially in scientific areas, where the entry barriers are relatively high for non-experts. Social debate in South Korea about the future of nuclear power plant is the case that shows the negative side effect of non-expert critics. Exaggerated fear about the danger of nuclear technology came from non-experts (environmentalists), and those groundless fear stymied the progress of technological improvement of nuclear technology in South Korea.

However, there are some ways that non-experts can still contribute in highly-academic fields. Politics is the perfect example. Even though politics seems like an academic work, vast majority of citizens (non-expert of the theory of politics) are encouraged to be a part of it. It is thought as solid truth that highly participated general public is an indicator of political advancement.

To sum up, to perceive eclectic critical judgements in a positive way, allowing a progressive improvement possible, it is important not to adhere only to the assessments from the experts, undermining the importance of those from non-experts. As many things are in the world, ‘balance’ is also significant in the world of critics.