The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

“Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The memo asserts that the demand for heating oil will increase for the next five years on the ground that the region they service the delivery will remain cold enough to require fuel for heating for several more years. In addition, an expectation of additional houses built due to recent population growth further consolidates the assertion. However, several evidences that this memo adduces for the conclusion are not logically sound, thus eliciting questions to be answered clearly.

First of all, whether the recent population growth is evenly distributed in all areas of United States should be answered. For instance, if the population growth rate adduced in this memo is of entire United States, there is still a chance that the population might even decrease in northeastern region due to the harsh cold weather. The fact that it is quite rare for the government to announce the specific population growth rate for a particular region of the nation adds much more validity to this concern.

Second, the question whether the newly-built houses still uses oil as a major fuel for heating should be answered. The passage does not give a single evidence that the newly built houses after five years from now will still use oil as a major fuel for heating. Considering the current oil shortage problem worldwide, the source of energy is likely to be changed to something else than oil, such as electricity or solar energy.

Finally, the reliability of those climate forecasters should be rigorously evaluated. If the forecast that the weather in the region will stay cold given are not accurate, the overall logical process will be seriously damaged. Considering the fact that weather forecasts are often not accurate, even for a daily forecast, the weather prediction for five years ahead cannot be perfect enough to be used as a sound logical ground for the conclusion.

To sum up, to strengthen the logical validity of the given assertion, following three questions must be answered clearly: Whether the population growth rate cited as a reference can give us appropriate information about the population in NorthEast United States, whether the newly-built houses will still use oil as a major energy source of heating, and finally the reliability of the weather forecasts. If these questions cannot be answered clearly enough, the given passage will lose its persuasiveness.