Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I totally agree with the given claim that the critical judgement of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that fiend. I am a great fan of specialization and strongly believe that only those who has good cognizance in a particular field should comment or judge a pertinent work.

People usually have a tendency to comment or act nosy even in task or field not related to them. When a group of friends or family members gather, they usually find a topic to banter and comment about. This is normally ok up to the level of witty talks and short term banters. However, sometimes people tend to get little more critical and polemic regarding some issue which should have been left untouched. It might even have negative impact on another person or outcome of that particular task. Unwanted negative criticism might let any person down and can make lose interest.

For instance, usually when a young couple construct a house in rural area, the neighbor are very keen to observe closely and give their inputs. Some of them are extra harsh or critical and start commenting about the structural and architectural aspect of the house, which they have little knowledge about. This might sometime play a negative role in the well being of the owner and even encourage to alter the design aspect of the house. However, in the same situation, if the comment is from a qualified structural Engineer or, utility Engineer, the owner must be aware enough to contemplate the suggestions and comments. Those comments might well prove helpful to improve the house structurally or maybe some other improvement in utilities.

Similarly, we have watched many Soccer and other games in TV. As an audience, it really annoys me when I see the unqualified people and even the commentators commenting harshly on the game play and moves of the players. It is fine to get enthusiastic but the unnecessary and acerbic comments on the players sometimes affect them in negative way and might even hamper their following performances. On contrary, if the comments are constructive and from the experts who understand the game plays properly, the players and manager can take them in positive way and use it as fuel to perform better in following games.

However, in some case, it is not totally wrong to allow layman and non-experts to voice their thoughts. This can help to acquire a general overview of how the general people understand the particular task. The major factor is, the effect of the comments must not be negative. If from the expert, the comments must be taken in constructive way. Also, if the comments are from the non-expert group or the people who knows very little about that task, the person assigned to complete that task should either neglect it or take it lightly such that the performance is not affected.