Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Giving valuable judgement is always encouraged in our society. No matter what scale of judgement is given. It will always have a positive effect toward others. I am positive that people are able to give valuable judgement to other fields even if they are not experts in those fields.

Judgments from non-experts and other fields can give different aspects and ideas to the experts in a certain field we are criticizing. People tend to think that we should not criticize other fields we are not experts in, since we will be considered reckless and ignorant. However, experts who provide services and entertainments need feedback from the public who are not experts. For example, chefs who have decades of experiment in cooking and pastry regard judgments of their customers as highly valuable. Sometimes they even encourage diners to give harsh and strict feedback because they think non-experts might have an different view of the dish that chefs have overlooked. Thus, their skills are able to move to a higher level and become a better chef.

Moreover, we also give judgments on music and art and artists tend to like their worked being judged because others opinions might be the next music idea or art topic. We do not have to excel in music editing or painting to be able to feel the meaning of the piece of art. Individuals have different feelings towards an art piece and when public feedback is collected by artists, they might produce something more marvelous. Nowadays, where artists upload their work online, feedback from the public will appear at the comment section. Artists can response to people's judgments and even have discussions with them. Thus making their work more popular and successful.

However, some may argue that fields which require a large amount of backgrounds knowledge like physics, mathematics and engineering cannot be easily judged. Without a proper training and experience, judgment toward there fields are useless unless you are an expert. Although this might be true for some very sophisticated areas. However, there is only a few experts in a certain field. Judgments from their peers may sometimes be narrow. For example, when professors faced a difficult issue in the laboratory, the same fields of experts might have the same way of solving problems and thinking. Therefore, its hard for to have out of the box thinking. By accepting judgments by the judgments by their students or other professors at other departments. Their problems might be solved faster.