Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Giving valuable judgment is always encouraged in our society. It will always have a positive effect on others. I am positive that people can give valuable judgment to other fields even if they are not experts in those fields.

Judgments from non-experts and other fields can give different aspects and ideas to the experts in a particular field we are criticizing. People tend to think that we should not criticize other fields we are not experts in, since we will be considered reckless and ignorant. However, experts who provide services and entertainment need feedback from the public who are not experts. For example, chefs who have decades of experiment in cooking and pastry regard the judgments of their customers as highly valuable. Sometimes they even encourage diners to give harsh and strict feedback because they think non-experts might have a different view of the dish that chefs have overlooked. Thus, their skills can move to a higher level and become a better chef.

Moreover, we also give judgments on music and art, and artists tend to like their work being judged because others' opinions might be the next music idea or art topic. We do not have to excel in music editing or painting to be able to feel the meaning of the piece of art. Individuals have different feelings towards an art piece, and when artists collect public feedback, they might produce something more marvelous. Nowadays, where artists upload their work online, feedback from the public will appear in the comment section. Artists can get responses to people's judgments and even have discussions with them. They are thus making their work more popular and successful.

However, some may argue that fields that require a large amount of background knowledge like physics, mathematics, and engineering cannot be easily judged. Without proper training and experience, judgment toward there fields are useless unless you are an expert. However, there are only a few experts in a particular field. Judgments from their peers may sometimes be narrow. For example, when professors faced a problematic issue in the laboratory, the same fields of experts might have the same way of solving problems and thinking. It is hard for them to have out of the box thinking. By accepting judgments from their students or other professors at other departments, their problems might be solved faster.