Decisions taken by an emotional person and justified by logic are the most poor decisions.

A healthy person is not just characterized by physical fitness; Mental or emotional fitness is vital too. Emotional fitness enables a person to make informed choices. A person who is stable emotionally, will be able to take the right decisions.

To expound the above statement, let us take an example. People, who are not emotionally vulnerable, will be more practical. Their apathy would make them think rationally and be down to earth. Their decisions would, for sure benefit them. On the contrary, a person who is more emotionally attached to others, will try to take a decision that not only benefits them, but also people who are directly connected to them. Thus, they would obviously waste a lot of time to arrive at the decision, and the irony is, it might not serve to be the best decision too.

A person who is more emotionally stable is bound to make a more logical decision. His thinking would be right to the point. Rather, if you consider a person who is very emotional, would be blinded by sentiments. Thus, the logical side of the issue won't be visulaized. It's not surprising that, over a point of time, he might even seem to be mawkish. The more he justifies, the greater he appears to be dumb. His justifications would seem frivolous.

Thus, the only way to ameliorate your way of thinking is to keep your sentiments aside and start thinking rationally.