The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

It is common knowledge that corporations exist mainly to make profits and they implore various antics to maximize their profits. In order to stay profitable, corporations want to maximize their revenue and minimize their cost. While profitability is good for the economic of a nation, this drive to maximize profit often creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large.

One way to look at this is the drive of corporations to increase their revenue. Most corporations achieve this by increasing the price of their products. While the effect of increase in price is less for non-essentials, the effect becomes more profound when the product is a fundamental product like food, clothing and housing. Increase in price of these product will lead to an increase in the standard of living. Without a corresponding increase in earning power, the welfare of the nation at large is sacrificed.

Another corporation might decide to maximize its profit by reducing its cost of production. The primary target in this case will be raw materials. Raw materials suppliers will bear the burden of reduced revenue. These suppliers will adjust by reducing the wages and benefits of their employees in order to stay afloat. A reduction in the earning power of these employees will lead to a reduced welfare of the populace in general. Although, the formation of trade unions can limit the power of big corporations in dictating the price of raw materials, the availability of substitutes and/or lack of competition for the raw materials give large corporation the bargaining power in controlling price.

In situations where the above means are not possible, corporations tend to look inward to minimize operating cost so as to maximize profit. This ranges from reducing employee wages and benefits to poorer working conditions. It is pertinent to note that these approach is more successful in countries with lax labour laws. A reduction in the wages of employees will reduce their purchasing power and hence reduce their general welfare. This is benign compared to the harsh working conditions they will be exposed to as well as the precarious environment created for anyone living close to the areas where these corporations exist.

It is important that corporations are profitable so that the economy of a nation will grow. However, measures such as labour laws, trade unions and maximum price ceilings should be kept in place to control any deleterious effect this drive for maximizing profit will have on the general welfare of the nation at large.