“The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large.”

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

According to the prompt, industries in corporate sectors tend to ignore general welfare of the nation while tending to gain maximum profits. I support the cause mentioned by the speaker: corporations many a times focuses more on personal benefits and keeping many important factors at bay.

Firstly, when we talk about national welfare, it doesn't consists only of consumers but also the natural resources, environmental balance, fauna and wildlife of the respective nation. Instances such as cheaper raw materials, natural excavation for resources, avoiding proper waste segregation by these corporate sectors comes to harm everyone in the end of the day. Many companies tend to stay away from green technology or ecofriendly production or waste management techniques in order to maximize their personal gains. Majorly, the reason why a greater part of corporate sectors still haven't adopted to ecofriendly technology lies with the fact that, they curb a part of their profit gaining system.

Decrease in quality of product or production method, is a significant example of malpractice used to increase profit gain by industries. While there is a significant competition out there in todays world, it is important to stand out while maintaining gross profits. These vicious cycles of profit gain is obtained by compromising on either quality of production, getting cheaper raw materials, etc. At the end it is a harm to both human welfare and environmental welfare of any nation.

There might also be some positive outcome of these desires by corporate sectors. Competition has been the mother of new and improvised products. In the recent era of modernization and public awareness - companies are slowly shifting towards products or services which are a win win for both- economy and natural balance. Example of these could a shift towards vegan products for a sector of population which considers it brutal to consume meat.

To sum up the argument, corporate sector's attraction to maximum profit should be monitored by aware citizens. They will have to keep national welfare as a priority, in order to avoid strict legal actions or public enrage: otherwise stated correctly they would harm the nations as well as the entire world's welfare.