Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position. As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate

Technology has been evolving every day in fact every minute. The importance of technology and the hold it has on life is far more than what we can think. Our life massively depends on it without us even realizing. But at the same time when we say technology is here to help humans and solve their problems, it certainly also true that our ability to think has been deteriorating. One basic example of this can be the calculator. With the invention on calculator, doing calculations has become a piece of cake. Any time we come across some problem that requires calculation, be it even a small calculation we type in the numbers and operations on the calculator and get our answers. Although very fast and efficient, our mathematical ability to think and solve the equations on our own has reduced. As an evidence if we ask any random person even a basic calculation like 9 times 6, he/she will have to think long and hard to get the right answer. This surely would not have been the case in the past when people relied on their mental ability to solve math rather than being heavily dependent on technology. Considering the 21st century, currently the biggest hype is around the Artificial Intelligence (AI) technology and though just a couple of years back it seemed futuristic it has already become a massively influenced our lives. I, personally use Chat GPT, the most widely used AI currently, almost every day. Be it write an email or solving an error in a code (being an IT engineer), I always turn to Chat GPT for answers. From the start itself people were so curious about this this technology and now we are just so used to it being there in our lives. AI tools like these can generate some amazing emails by just typing in a simple prompt telling the subject of the mail. We don't have to think or stress our minds on will this writing be enough our is it framed correctly, the AI simply does it for us. It has only been two years since its birth but we can already see the evidence that our ability to think for ourselves is surely deteriorating. Technology is not bad, in fact it is a good friend but we need to know how to make the right utilization of it. As long as we use it for our own betterment it will remain as a friend but when we over step our use that is when it may turn against us.