Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

To discuss controversial topics to change the mind of the opposition is, by definition, a difficult undertaking. However, the purpose of discussion is not always to change the mind of the other party. Instead, the purpose of discussion is to garner further insight, create an exercise of knowledge and presentation, and potentially alter the degree of the view of the participants.

Differing viewpoints over any subject tend to miss certain aspects of any arguement that is presented. Any side that reapeats the same discussion with only their peers will simply develop a cycle with no further conclusion. That is why it is important to discuss the controversy with an opposing viewpoints. The insight garnered by both participants leads to more informed views and the possibility of solution if common ground is developed.

Furthermore, the simple act of arguement can be a stimulating exercise of knowledge, philosophy, and presentation betweeen parties. A poorly made arguement, despite many valid points, can be trounced by a superior argument construction. No common ground may be made, but respect for an opponent can be created through their ability to deliver their view. This in turn, may lead to particpants improving their ability to create and present arguements in a productive, yet benign, method.

However, if not properly refereed, controversy can devolve into chaos; no one wins or benefits in any fashion. Only further confusion and disparity develops, enlarging the rift between the opposing views. That is why it is important to maintain control of the discussion; controlled discussions may not see a clear winner but both parties may change their view by a matter of degrees. It may be no perfect balance but all great journeys begin with single steps.

In conclusion, it may be true that controversial discussions may have no clear winner. However, that should not halt discussion entirely; rather, discussion will lead to greater insight to the other's view while also improving the capabilities of the participants involved. Despite the difficulty, people should coutinue to discuss their views knowing that there are greater benefits than simply winning an arguement.