Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Controversial topics have never been easily solved, there are many contrasting views which makes it more cumbersome for analyses of the topic and it inadvertantly becomes more compound. Many believe that every person should question to the controversy if it is anyhow related to their well-being. But sometimes, many people retract their views once they are questioned about their views and beliefs in order to escape from where they could have proven wrong. Such an act makes the controversy to get more heated and nearly impossible to reach to a solution. They suddenly change their beliefs at any given point of time. The above prompt argues that few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs. I strongly agree with the author that few people definetely makes a controversy more complex by their fickle attitude towards the topics.

One can take the example of politics in daily life. Many issues are made it to the level where one could have solved the matter before reaching to its peak. When one person tries to mitigate any issue the opposition organization because of the enmity towards the organization makes it more complex by their contrasting views. At one point the issue becomes so unsolvable that the issue is flooded with many different theories. It also happens that once the organization is started to question they change their views in order to not get into the negative impression of people and in turn makes the controversial topic a still under dispute. Analysing the above example, i agree that if many different contrasting views are put forward then it can only increase the heat of the dispute.

After british left India, they had completely destroyed the politics of the country and had also initiated a fire of anger between the two religion i.e Hindus and Muslims. The matter had so taken the roots that Hindu people started to hate Muslims and vice versa. Many attempts where made to mitigate the problems but due to contrasting views the land had to be divided into two parts where one was given to Muslims and one was for Hindus. Because people couldn't reach to a solution there was division of land which was worst decision ever taken by any country in history. one could have saved the division of land if such contrasting views could have been prevented

Of course, many still believe that contrasting views should be put forward because one cannot just agree with what is under developing. But these contrasting views has never led to any issues reach any successful decision.