The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above memorandum, the business manager has claimed that one should increase the use of margarine to its restaurant in the southeast and northeast as well in order to increase the profit. To support the argument, he provided evidence of a statical data that 98% people are happy with the change. Also he claimed that people in southwest are not able to identify difference in butter and margarine. But in order to consider the argument reasonable, there are many questions that needs to be answered.

To the first piece of evidence that 98% people are happy with the change, does this survey has the same reviews on southeast and northeast people as well? Because if the survey says that southwestern people are happy with the change that doesn't mean that northeast people will also be happy with the change. The above survey requires more adequate explanation and more piece of evidence to support the argument. What if people in other part of United states did not like the change? There can a possibility that southeast and northeast people are connioseur of taste and a slight difference in taste can make them unhappy about the change and can in turn cause a decrease in the profit for the restaurant owners. If the data is unable to answer the above questions then the memorandum lacks it's significance.

To the second piece of evidence supporting the claim that southwestern people are clearly not able make difference between butter and margarine. Is it necessary that people from southeast and northeast people also cannot determine the difference? What if people made the difference? Will the profit margin still remain the same or wont decrease? The manager assumes that people from northeast and southeast as well will not be able to make the difference. This assumption undermines the manager's conclusion. If people are able to make differences then there can possibility that people may not be happy with the change and can cause a loss to the manager. There's needs to be more evidence to answer the above question.

In conclusion, the memorandum where it stands right now, it is not considerable to support the recommendation, since it lacks proper evidence and there are many unanswered questions. The survey also requires further evaluation in order to support the argument.