Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs

Controversial topics are bountiful now-a-days and we are daily exposed to tens of thousands of such topics, that we become apathetic to most. Such as, a person living in India is uninterested to a political scandal occuring in some remote corner of South America. However, everyone shows interest in topics that they believe to affect them personally - climate change for example. Constructive discussions of such topics with those with constrasting views is always beneficial to those seeking to understand a subject and thus making their opinion/ views well rounded and in considerate of others.

During a discussion on controversial topics, people with constrating views begin to inject their opinions and thoughts - some mixed with well researched facts and others based purely on the emotional value. Both these views are hard to dissuade openly as it implies that their very being surrounded by their core beliefs is brought in question, which is hard to digest. A person whose opinion is based on their emotional values comes from their core beliefs which is derived from their life experiences which has led to them upto this point.

It is always a valid practise for those attempting to change someone's mindset to first understand and acknowledge the other side's views and thoughts; similar to how studies indicate that a good practise for any salesman is to first understand the customer's needs and priority before pitching a solution. This always does not guarantee that the other person view's will completely change however, it makes it easier to digest when they realize that their problems and reasoning is understood and the opinion presented to them only adds values to their opinion and not criticize it.

In summary, constructive discussions of controversial topics with those with constrasting views is always benefical in the manner of making their opinion well rounded, provided that the discussion carried ahead is done with all parties understanding each other's opinions first before beginning to dissuade them.